Get off the bus

I chose taking the shuttle bus to Tolkat over the more “specialized” tours because the shuttle only cost $27 bucks AND you have the option of getting on and off anywhere along the road. The shuttles run every half hour and you are free to flag down a subsequent bus at any time, You can even get off multiple times if you wish, just don’t miss the last bus back or you’ll be stranded overnight in the Park.

I chose to get off at Polychrome Pass because it is an expansive area and the walk down to the river is ALL DOWNHILL. I had a day pack with water, a down vest, some snacks and a pair of gloves. Fe didn’t want to hike, she later told me she thought I planned to walk ALL THE WAY OUT to the Wilderness Center, 46 miles!   I made sure she knew where the RV was parked and got off the bus.

Image

Which way to go?

Image

Image

You see things hiking that you can’t on the bus

Image

 

Something walking bearfoot…

Image

The “poly” in polychrome

Image

more fresh tracks,

Image

Mountain sheep slowly feeding down the mountain

Image

About this time a pickup truck drove by with a warning, a sow grizzly with a year old cub were walking down by the bridge across the river. If I continued walking I would likely run into them.  I assumed it was the two bears we had seen from the bus (same general area.) Though I wasn’t overly concerned, I proceeded cautiously, whistling, singing and mumbling to myself.

Leave a comment